alter_computer

The Department Demographic Change and Regional Development (DCRD) focuses on research into the main effects and interaction effects of population ageing from a (macro)economic point of view. The department concentrates on the following main areas:

Labour market: From a business and economic point of view, the ageing of society raises questions such as how employees can be kept longer in working life and how the attractiveness of business locations can be improved or maintained.

Consumption: With increasing age, individual consumption habits change, as do the demands on state services. Against this background, the question arises: which goods and services are to be produced in the future and which qualifications and framework conditions are necessary?

Overall economy: The ageing of the population or the decline in the share of the working population is seen as a potential threat to economic growth. What economic policy measures can be taken to counteract this development and what growth potential exists in “ageing” regions?

DCRD – Demographic Change and Regional Development

alter_computer

Das Department Demographic Change and Regional Development (DCRD) fokussiert die Erforschung der Aus- und Wechselwirkungen der Alterung der Bevölkerung aus (volks-)wirtschaftlicher Sicht. Das Department konzentriert sich dabei im Wesentlichen auf die folgenden Schwerpunkte:

Arbeitsmarkt: Durch die gesellschaftliche Alterung ergeben sich aus betriebs- und volkswirtschaftlicher Sicht u.a. Fragestellungen, wie ArbeitnehmerInnen länger im Erwerbsleben gehalten werden können bzw. wie die Attraktivität von Wirtschaftsstandorten verbessert bzw. erhalten werden kann.

Konsum: Mit zunehmenden Alter ändern sich die individuellen Konsumgewohnheiten als auch die Anforderungen an staatliche Leistungen. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt sich die Frage, welche Güter und Dienstleistungen künftig produziert werden sollen bzw. welche Qualifikationen und Rahmenbedingungen dafür notwendig sind.

Gesamtwirtschaft: Die Alterung der Bevölkerung bzw. der Rückgang des Anteils der Erwerbsbevölkerung wird als potentielle Gefahr für das Wirtschaftswachstum gesehen. Welche wirtschaftspolitischen Maßnahmen können gesetzt werden, um dieser Entwicklung entgegenzuwirken bzw. welche Wachstumspotentiale liegen in „alternden“ Regionen vor?